Personal Safety Source

free shipping on orders over $50

Enter Email For Instant 15% Discount Code & FREE Shipping

Legal TASER® Use One Step Closer in Michigan


TASER® In Michigan May Soon Be Legal

Those with CCW in  Michigan may  soon be allowed to carry a TASER® to temporarily disable potential attackers.  The House almost unanimously passed Senate bills 2930 and 93. The Senate originally approved the bills last October, but made  some technical changes before the bills are sent to the Governor for his signature.

Under the law, citizens can possess and use electro-muscular disruption devices, also known as a TASER® with a concealed pistol license and training. The bills call for similar restrictions and penalties as the laws in place for pistols.  A TASER® must be registered to activate it and a background check is performed.

Civilian TASER®’s, which are legal in 44 states, have less firing range than the type the  police use. The police stun guns can shoot up to 35 feet while the civilian model goes 15 feet.  The bill is only for legal TASER’s  in Michigan and does not apply to stun guns.

Lawmakers are considering another bill that would speed up the process for obtaining a concealed weapon permit and allow some licensed gun owners with additional training to carry concealed pistols in traditionally pistol-free zones, such as schools, hospitals and bars.

State Sen. Rick Jones, a former Eaton County sheriff who once allowed himself to be shocked by a Taser during a 2008 legislative committee meeting, said “thousands” of citizens have contacted him seeking legalization of the Taser device.Jones,  said he believes the threat of electroshock could prevent violent crimes, especially against women.”I would say you could pull it out and say ‘Back away, I have a Taser,'” said Jones. “Ninety-nine percent of the time I think they’ll run away because they don’t want to be Tasered.”

More than 286,000 Michigan residents had a valid concealed pistol license in October, according to the Michigan State Police.

The House’s minor changes to the bills must be approved by the full Senate before the legislation can advance to Gov. Rick Snyder for his consideration.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Here you go

Your 15% Discount Code